Can anyone explain central London cameras to me please?

Hi All

I am new to riding in London. Everything is going fine so far (and the duke is an incredible and easy machine for filtering) but my biggest worry are cameras. I assume you need to be very careful with no right turns even on quiet back streets as I’ve been stung in a car before but my main concern is speed. Where exactly are all the 20mpg average speed cams? I don’t plan on riding at a silly pace but the 390 duke is a little annoying at 20mph - in second its hard to be smooth due to throttle response and in 3rd it chugs. Hoping it might be better after first service. However its much easier to ride at about 25-27 which I would rather do even in a 20mph zone. Can I generally do this, slowing down when i see a camera? Do invisible cameras exist?

Also I assume I can go in any bus lane but what about little bits of road when it says something like buses and taxis only?

Any other tips welcome as I cant even find this info on the council websites. One thing I did find out recently is that you have to use the “park right” app as when you pay for bays the phone numbers don’t seem to work and its not the “pay by phone” app that the annoying voice recording suggests.

The traffic does not stress me but these complexities do! Any help much appreciated so I don’t get 10 fines though the post on my first two weeks of riding…! Thanks in advance everyone

1 Like

Can’t answer a lot as I dont ride into London much, but you are only allowed to ride in bus lanes that have a motorbike on the sign. This is most of the red routes, bit not a lot of the others so it’s worth checking the signs.

Bus filters (where the bus lane separates from the road) are the same, some you can (like Holloway and Trafalgar Square) and dune you can’t.