State of bike insurance in London

I’ve been riding a bike in London daily since 1997 and have had a garage for 6 months of that time.
Since 1997 I have made two claims on insurance - two bikes were nicked, both from outside my house on different occasions at diffferent addresses.

I have accepted that I have had to pay a premium over the years for insuring a bike in London and also for not having a garage, however I have always had a wide choice of insurers and never had a problem getting a quote. I am also nearly 40 years old, married with a young child and have a mortgage - not exactly a rebel.
I love riding and can’t imagine ever being without a bike.

However after my last theft just over a year ago, I could barely find anyone to quote me for tpft or fully comp, on a new £8500 bike - even with 9 years protected NCB.
The only reasonable quote was CN at £1600!

Now new bike prices are rising significantly, so we are not talking about Italian exotica or brand new R1’s at £12000. Even a solid commuter like a new XJ6 is £6500!
At the rate things are going it will soon become difficult to insure an average bike in London against theft unless you have a garage.
But how many people have a garage in London? Most houses or flats have a drive if you are lucky.

It seems that motorcycle / vehicle theft is only ever going to get worse as long as the police are not allowed to prioritise it over other crimes.
Manufacturers seem to have a vested interest due to the need to replace all these stolen vehicles.
Insurance companies seem to be making a garage compulsory for theft cover for less expensive bikes, certainly compared to say 5 years ago (personal experience).

I wonder if soon it will be impossible to insure a bike in London other than a basic 125cc model.
If the figures are to be believed then scooter theft makes up the lions share of theft claims, and scooter prices are certainly not falling.