Number of Points for New Riders?

Hi, all! I just had my first notice of a traffic violation come through the post. I have been driving for fifteen years, but only riding for one year. I am a bit anxious as I can’t recall if a new rider loses the license by receiving six points (only) in two years, or by exceeding six points. Does anyone know?

They did me for riding 46mph in a 30mph. I know all of the cameras and I was surprised, so it might be a police van. However, on the way in to work today, I noted that the only camera on Millbank is a camera that has been minus the white distance marking lines on the road for ages, as they recently re-surfaced the road. I have already admitted that I ride the bike, but I thought it would be worth asking for proof as the white markings have not been re-painted for very long. I might get lucky!

I am not sure what the usual procedure is for this. I suspect that they will mail me a ticket once I send in the form saying that I was riding. Is this correct?

the 2 year period only applies to new licences - passing your bike test adds an extra category to your existing on so the normal 12 points apply

pretty sure that they have to provide the snapshot on request

Are you sure, JB?! I hope that you are right. We were discussing it last night and I think that the new license is an issue as another friend risked losing his for his first offence, but they ditched the case due to lack of evidence. I feel much better if you are correct…it seems far too easy to get three points! I dread to think about what this will do to my insurance. How long do points stay on your record?

Hey Brooke! Bad luck! … don’t worry too much, it’s been well discussed here before, and we have it from the horses mouth, that the two year thing is for NEW LICENSES. You don’t have a new license, you have new endorsements, so you won’t come a cropper.

Request the proof, they might not be able to supply any!

p.s. where’ve you been, we miss you!