M swan song

boys and girls: The time has come for me to say goodbye. I’m leaving London for a new adventure. Some of you will know the torment that made this decision and some of you will not. I’m sad to go but at the same time, I’m excited to start a new chapter.
Irrespective, since I joined LB, you’ve all been amazing. Right from the the first people I met, Gavin, Sarah, Frenchie, Jaime, Claire, Fat Alan, Alba, Mian, Rixxy, Sarge, Boris the Blade etc. I’ve made some good friends here, I’ve had some great times, I’ve had some amazing experiences, I’ve learned and maybe I’ve even taught. I’ve smiled, I’ve laughed hell, I’ve even loved.
To my friends, you know who you are, we will keep in touch, to the rest, well, I’m sure I’ll stop by from time to time to see how you’re all doing. And to Mian, you’re a prick, you already know this more than most and, even though you ‘don’t ride in a group’ or ever knowingly have a working bike, you’d better be in on this…

So here it is, sometime over the next month or two I’ll be off, there will be no fanfare and there will be no party, there will be no tears and there will be no parade (well, I hope there won’t be anyway). I’m going to slope off quietly such is my style but, I have a lot to deal with in the mean time and as such, I won’t be around a whole lot.

Before that however, I would like, in light of my first ever LB rideout, to propose this:
A little jaunt from the tea-hut at Blackheath all the way to Finchingfield via High Beech, right through the land known as ‘Art’s Back Yard’. A redux of an eventful jubilee weekend ride where I really learned what this community was all about. This will be a special one for me since it will more than likely be my last in this neck of the woods.
I propose this now because soon the weather will turn, the roads will become with wet leaves and mud, the wind bitter and the rain will start to sting. Riding will be less fun than we have grown accustomed over the summer.