Lunatic filters

There is a lot on the site about the antics of car, taxi and bus drivers but since returning to biking I have found the biggest hazzard I face is other bikers. I am not a timorous rider and I use the full latitude around speed limits. Although I am a newbie to biking, I have 35 years experience of driving in London and was a fairly typical BMW driver. Yet pretty much every day when filtering I get a shock or a near miss from bikers that spin past me, only inches away at speeds 20-30mph faster than me.

For example, this morning on the elevated section of the A40 (3 lanes, 50mph limit) I was in the outside land as the road bent to the left I took the left hand side of my lane. I was then astonished to be overtaken only inches away by another bike actually in my lane. To avoid incriminating myself I will not say what my speed was but to have overhauled me that quickly he must have been doing 80mph. I keep a god lookout and check mirrors constantly but was not aware of him until he was alongside me. If I had moved back towards the middle of my lane he would not have been able to avoid me and we would both have been seriously injured, probably killed.

This kind of risk is his own affair when dicing with cars - but I would expect a fellow bikers to be aware of how limited the rear vision of a bike is and make allowances.

Am I being naive here?

Nope, I’d say that’s pretty much the size of it.
I’ve had similar experiences.
Other loons to look out for are pizza bikers, cyclists and ALL couriers.

HOWEVER, I grew up in Germany where motorways are often only 2 lane and and there are no speed limits.

This means I learnt at a very early age that it isn’t just the front 180 degrees that are important.

Maybe I’m not as ballsy, but I’d far rather be a living chicken than a dead hero. Dead heroes rot and smell bad and don’t get to party and shag and stuff like that.