Advice please on London-Paris on a 125?

Son and friend have decided to go to Paris this weekend, one has an aprilia rs4125 the other one a cg125. Do you have any essential advice for them that I could pass on? (I’m a newbie myself so not best place for advice)

Tell whoever is on the aprilia to make sure they have breakdown cover

If they are riding on L Plates in the UK, they will need to check whether they can ride in France at all under their license (it used to be a no, might have changed). Even if they can they may find insurance doesn’t cover abroad (if they are l platers) and they also may not be able to use the main route from Calais to Paris (A26 and A1). All in all, I think the answer will be “non”.

Good call on the Breakdown cover

Just assuming here because they’re on 125’s but they do have full UK Driving Licenses?

L-plate riders aren’t insured abroad on UK insurance - this has been on before.

if i recall, no. L platers can not ride their bikes abroad

Hire a trailer?

Essential info - http://www.eurostar.com

Avoid Paris at all cost, find somewhere nice to go. :slight_smile:

When riding or driving abroad you can use any full entitlements you have on your license. No country accepts another country’s provisional entitlements so you can never ride or drive abroad on L plates. The fact that French drivers can ride a 125 is irrelevant as it is the full entitlements on your license that matters, not some hypothetical entitlement based on a license you don’t have issued by a country you are not resident in.

I don’t think you can ride in France on L’s I remember something about. I could be wrong.

Even though Carole Nash thought it would good to tell me I had free European breakdown cover!

But good luck whatever they do

At top of all licence issues the thing to remember or to know is that France had added some required hiviz additions to the driver details here

Hope it helps.
R

That seemingly has changed…