Shifting...

Hi all,

I’m a newbie biker and have a question about when is ideal to shift gears.
I have a little YBR125 and I was told to shift around 7-8k but this feels too high to me.
The engine sounds strained and high pitched.

Is this typical for a 125?

If I shift closer to 5-6k it feels/sounds better but obviously not as much power.
What is the rule of thumb on this?

Thanks.

Depends what your trying to do :-
Full on hard acceleration thake it right though to the bred line
super carefull slow ride short shift at 1/4 full revs
Normal riding keep in in the middle third of the rev range

Bikes are mostly much higher / and freer revving than cars

Dave

Thanks Dave, that is very helpful.
Are higher rev changes harder on the engine?

Know exactly what you mean - if you’re used to driving a car, then it can be hard to get used to it being ok to stay in the upper half of the rev range. Sounds like your thrashing the engine! Am not very technical, so will let one of the boys explain why, but yes 7-8k no problem at all. And is more fun!!

Yes, engine damage was my main concern.
Certainly more power up the top half.
I guess the high pitch of the engine there is just because it is a 125?

wot Dave Spanners said. middle third, for general riding, getting a push on then slap it of the limiter, but not all day every day,

I’ve never owned a 125, so no, not just them, my ER-6F and the GS both sound uncomfortable in the higher rev range, especially when they are close to red lining. But that is only cos I spent so long as a driver before becoming a rider. Once you get used to it and realise that you are doing no harm, you’ll get bored just ‘pootling’ and will look for any opportunity to red line!! Just don’t keep it up there constantly - middle rev range is where you will spend at least 80% of the time. The other thing I took a while to learn is that dropping a gear is often a good idea, low gear + high revs = more control. In Central London, rarely get out of 2nd!