Reading bike inspection

I’m a newb when it comes to biking and in general I’m prone to making quick purchases. So, as the description says, I need help to make sure I don’t make a mistake when I go to view a bike on Sunday the 2nd of Feb in Reading.

I would just need your help to inspect the bike and ask relevant questions, then do a short test ride.

Our friend Elad helped me do this last Saturday (cheers mate!), but the bike wasn’t what I was looking for and he’ll be hard at work this Sunday! :w00t:

If you’re available. please PM me to let me know. I’ll gladly pay for petrol/ fares within reason (i.e. not if you travelled from Manchester, Brighton etc)
Cheers,
G

B ring U p M y P ost!

Anyone? :wink:

I won’t offer because I tend to buy bikes every decade or something and normally nearly new from a dealer.

But… Start by going down to a main dealer (if poss) and inspect and sit on the same bike/model that you want to buy. Ask the dealer about the marque and mention you might be interested in buying an older version (if relevant) and see if he’s got any tales to tell. Do you’re homework before setting out. Know the service interval and any model peculiarities and recalls.

However, if I was with you on either Saturday the 2nd of Feb or Sunday the 3rd ;), I would ask for all the paperwork before even looking at the bike. I would check the frame and engine numbers against the log book. If anything been has filed or tampered – it’s stolen and you just walk away.

Next, obviously, service record. Make sure the book’s stamped up by main dealers and the service interval has been observed. Whether you accept the “I do some/all my own servicing mate” depends on what job the person’s got but that’s another point at which I would walk.

Check the service receipts carefully. This can be a give-away as well, as sometimes you see things being done that aren’t exactly service items: New fairing, handlebars exhaust system! :smiley: