Not IAM or Rospa...

I’ve been riding for coming up to 4 years now. I’ve owned 6 bikes and must have covered over 35,000 miles. I’ve also done 9 track days in this time and a Police Bikesafe training session (and soon to do another).
My current bike (Yamaha R1) has been a revelation to me in that, because it is such a capable machine, it’s made me examine my riding, take a California Superbike School training session this year and read books on the science of biking like body positioning on the machine, weight distribution on the tyres etc.
I’m confident in my machine control, but I’m getting to the stage where my perceived experience is making me a bit cocky, and despite not having any scary moments for a long time, sometimes I worry what I do is a bit dangerous and my luck is soon to run out.
I’m looking for some road based training which isn’t about jumping through hoops and adhering to a strict way of riding. Riding is dynamic and the road environment around a rider is constantly changing so in my opinion, training which is too rigid is pointless.
I don’t care for certificates or qualifications as I’ve got my licence and that’s all I need. I just want a practical based training which deals with the realities of riding in congested cities, advice on filtering and an analysis of the road ahead of you which can be deciding factors in adjusting your riding at a particular time (things like mud suggestion tractors, smelling diesel before seeing it, a ball in the road suggesting children etc).
Any ideas?
Thanks.

Rapid Training… I’m in the process of booking with them and also know a few people who have trained with them and highly recommend it.

http://www.rapidtraining.co.uk/n/home.htm

I’ve heard of them…Gonna look into it

Cheers for that :smiley:

Good on you mate, you have identified that we are probably at most danger to ourselves after we have had a bit of training and our perceived skill level is above that of our actual skill level.