new here and searching for wisdom

Hiya guys and gals,

Little bout me … I’m 34, living in souf London, going pretty well battling with traffic and a commute that feels like I am navigating the Monopoly board (includes crossing the river, then through Knightsbridge and Hyde Park Corner, Park Lane, Marble Arch and up to Hampstead)… and my scooter is dying :frowning:

Hope ya don’t mind me launching in with a question on my first post :slight_smile:

I’m pretty new to the 2-wheel world, but loving it so far. I did my CBT back in May on a scooter and was advised by my instructor that perhaps I should consider getting a motorbike 'stead of a scoot. Something about the way I cornered and generally handled it, plus his opinion on my daily commute.

Turns out I ignored all he said, bought a 50cc ET2 that was pretty battered for £600 (i figured I’d have less problems with security if it was the most scratched bike in the bay, plus if I didn’t gather confidence and skill quickly then it wasn’t a huge loss to bare). It’s been as easy as pie gaining my confidence on the scooter but everytime I see someone on a sports bike my heart skips a beat and I fall a little further in love (generally with the bike rather than the rider).

Now this is where my dilemma comes in … this week my bike started stalling and odds are that there’s something pretty wrong with the gasket. Money is pretty damn tight at the moment.

(a) do i fork out almost as much as I paid for the bike to get the repair done? and continue to gaze lustfully as the bikes fly past me until i save up enough to actually buy one/do my direct access.
(b) do i try and sell it for as much as i can possibly get for it, and hope it doesn’t stall when anyone test rides it … and pass the problem on (could I sleep straight at night?)
© do i buy a second hand sports bike (125), but then potentially take on the risk of another lemon? and also pretty soon wish i held out for a bigger bike?