HELP! - Drifting out wide

Hi all - this is my first post (hooray!). :slight_smile:

I’m quite new to biking so can someone please explain to me what causes bikes to drift out wide when going round bends? I’ve gone round a couple of bends recently, at very reasonable speeds (i.e. lowish) and found myself drifting out wide and crapping my load! How do I correct this? What’s the best technique? If it’s of any use I ride a Gixxer750.

Cheers

What gear are you in? Keep the gears pulling, better being in a low gear and having the bike pulling under your control than being in too higher gear and letting it wander.

This is such a common trait with new riders, you need to get the miles under your belt… the more you get the better things will fall into place.

Now some will beg to differ on this but when I go wide just a slight drag on the REAR brake, keep the throttle where it is, will pull the bike back in, slightly drop the shoulder that’s on the inside of the turn…(so if its a left bend it’ll be the left shoulder)…This saves the sudden panic, brake, gear change all on the bend which can cause more trouble.

I know what I mean it’s just hard trying to explain here in words and I’m not a qualified instructor.

Becareful what info you do take in from here cos it could cause you more harm than good :wink:

+1

Definatly get your corner speed and gear right first before trying anything! Then it simply remains in your confidence in your own abilities and the knoledge of how your own bike will react under the situation.

Sounds like nothing that a few miles and a bit of time wont fix :smiley:

Turning in to early will also cause this, meaning the bend keeps going but you start approaching uncomfortable lean angles. Turn a bit later with a good shove of counter steer and you should be fine - as everyone says above, it will soon be second nature.

its usually the tires aint it? :smiley: