Habbit of over-using the rear brake

Hi all!

I have a rather noobish question, but then again I am relatively new to motorcycling. Anyway…

When I started riding I was always using the front brake no matter what. It’s like I almost forgot about the existence of the rear brake.
Then, after a while, I realised that I’m not really using it even though 99.9% of my riding is done in London at, as wel all know, rather slow speeds, and started focusing on it a bit more.

I have now gotten to the point when I’m doing the exact opposite - almost never using the front brake just becase the rear one on my MT-09 is so good.

Hence, I’m curious if what I’m doing is wrong? Should I mostly be using the front brake (even though I’m mostly travelling at speeds of up to 30mph) and only add the rear as an additional stopping power or is it ok to rely solely on the rear one in a city?

As always, any advice, be it about braking or not, is always more than welcome!

Thanks in advance!

This thread may get long with people saying what is and isnt right…

We all have our own riding styles that suit us… I used to use my back brake all the time (Only used my front in emergency situations etc) and I was happy doing so, until I got my sv when it changed and I now very rarely use my rear brake…

What Im trying to say is, different riders, different people,different bikes/experience etc etc etc…
if you are happy using your front/back or even the engine braking to stop and you stop safely and efficiently then its fine in my eyes.

http://londonbikers.com/forums/1041177//why-75-front-brake-and-25-back-is-wrong?Keywords=Habbit%20over-using%20%20rear%20brake

This will keep you busy…