General Security & Trackers

Hi folks,

I’m new to biking, and am taking delivery of a relatively new Honda CBR600F on Thursday, which I’m really excited about.

I’ve been doing loads of research on bikes/gear etc following the decision to switch onto two wheels and the security issues particulalrly in London that keep cropping up are concerning me more and more.

As far as I can gather, the thieves will have the bike if they want it regardless, but that’s not going to stop me from making it as difficult as possible for them.

So, overnight, I’ll have the bike parked in a secure gated car park, off the street, out of sight, under a cover, with an Almax 1V chain/anchor, Xena disc alarm, and datatool S4 Cat 1 alarm.

During the day it will be in a secure CCTV monitored underground car park.

I’ll have the disc alarm while I’m out and about in town, but I need a lock to secure the bike in this instance, I gather the Almax will be too heavy, any suggestions?

What about Trackers? The recovery rates look impressive, so I’m tempted to have one fitted. I’ve seen ppl post the fact that they have Tracker Monitors fitted (not recent posts) for significantly less than the prices currently advertised on the Tracker website. Can anyone point me towards a competitive/quality installer?

Thanks in advance for any help…

I seem to remember a few stories on here about bikes with trackers that never got tracked… They are a good piece of mind kit… I’m not too sure on recovery rates so can’t comment but definitely will give you more piece of mind when parking. I think Jaime here has one which is so sensitive they texted him that the bike was moved as it was being put on a ramp at the OMC (he had forgot to deactivate it)… :smiley:

Carrying a chain around with you is impractical but if you have some sort of tailbag it’s more manageable. I never bothered really but then my bike ain’t worth that much :smiley: