buying a black cab?

Hi all,

i am considering to buy a former black cab to export back to Italy, i see that these models are on sale and read online that they can be insured and used as a private car, any of you has done or know anyone who has done it?

Any cab driver here who could tell me what to look at and what mileage will still be decent to afford a road trip back to italy?

I saw cabs with 250,000 miles for over just a grand, i read they can go up to 500,000 miles???

Thanks

So I’m not an expert on this but I saw a program on TV about the introduction of new Mercedes Vito cabs. Apparently taxi drivers will tell you that LTI haven’t made a decent vehicle since the “Fairway” whatever that means.

Yeah i am actually looking at the proper London Cab, LTI tx1 i think is the model…

Stephen Fry did it and drives around in one… So I would assume it is feasible

That’s the extent of my knowledge on the matter…
:smiley:

Jamiroquai had one

http://www.bhpmsport.com/jamiroquai’s_lti_tx4_london_taxi_(np-0000000207).html

My mate had one some years ago - no problems at all in insuring / driving as a private car.

There are more and more coming on the market as the emission rules get tighter (most get bought to use in other cities which don’t have the same rules, Liverpool, Glasgow, smaller towns etc)

Of course you will have to get used to people hailing you (especially when its raining):hehe:have a classic black 1967 Wolseley 6/110 .

I dropped a ,mate off at Victoria Station and a pissed Frenchmen got in the back and asked to be taken to some hotel… I took him and he bunged me a £20 note, none the wiser.

If you look at the Wolseley 6/110 you can see the confusion with a black cab…

My mate has a TX2, paid about a grand last year. The best place to buy is near Loughborough Junction.

Why would anyone want to do that?

I wouldn’t touch one with a barge pole

i am thinking of exporting it back to Italy so i can either rent it for weddings and stuff…