Anyone have experience with Narrow(canal) Boats?

Complete newbie thinking of buying one

I know some people who own them, nobody who lives on them full-time.

Are you planning to live on it?

Thanks, no not full time. I’m looking to buy one with a good mate.  We both live at different points of the Regents canal and its really nice in summer (it also doubles up as a dog box when the mrs is in one of her moods hehehe), love the idea of being able to move it around different points of the canal all the up to Camden.

There are heaps of better priced boats outside of London, like Bristol, one of my initial questions is if its actually worth looking at those, ie physically possible to transport, and will not cost thousands to do so.  Time is not an issue.

There was the big Cornish bloke that came to BM every now and then, he lives on one permanently.

I looked a buying one a few years ago, it’s not something to buy as a investment from what I could see. Also unless you get a static mooring you’ll have to move every 2 weeks (i think) and have heard they are enforcing this rule more regularly these days. Which is fine for some people, but could be a hassle.

The main thing that put me off was having somewhere safe to leave my bikes. The Cornish lad had a smaller bike he could actually put on the boat. Not sure I’d want to ride a bike up a possibly wet plank!

BM=Burning Man?
I’m definitely not looking to live on one permanently, my bike is staying in the garage :slight_smile:
Or will it be an investment as I know for a fact the depreciate in price.  This is purely recreational.

Yeah have to look into the mooring but moving once every 2 weeks is not bad for me.  Mate and I have about 1 to 2 clicks of canal between us and at the moment plenty of parking particulalry behind my building.

In terms of license or tax and “on canal costs” is it expensive to keep one?

Do you have to go on a boat driving course? LOL