Advice on bike manufacturers

Im new to motorbikes and will be looking to buy one very soon.

My question is which manufacturers should I avoid as there are a lot I’ve never heard of such as
rieju, sukida, derbi +many more.

I haven’t a clue who they are!

for now I’m sticking with Yamaha,honda,suzuki & kawasaki.

Any advice appreciated

avoid anything Chinese/Taiwanese.

avoid: rieju, sukida,
not too bad: derbi, hyosung, kymco (the last two are exceptions from the rule above)

your safest bet is to stick to the big four (Honda, Yamaha, Suzuki, Kawasaki)

all make good bikes in different segments… best bet is too explain what size/type bike your after and get peops recommendations off that.

Just stick with the big four.

The chinese/korean bikes might be catching up, but the build quality isn’t there yet. Because of this the resale value of those bikes is much much less then the top 4 brands.

In many cases those bikes are not necessarily cheaper. I looked recently and a Honda CBR 125 is about £2,500 on the road, and the equivalents were about the same.

That same CBR 125 will be worth about £1800 when you come to sell it in 6 months when you pass your test, the equivalent was worth about £1300.

Which means you can pick up a good cheap second hand version, but as mentioned above…the build quality is pretty poor on many occasions.

Well there are a few others, Ducati, BMW, Triumph, KTM, MV, Hardly Moving Son, Moto Guzzi, to name just a few that run right off :slight_smile:

But agree with above, what sort of bike are you after? Recommendations to follow;)

Ian

well I would be looking for a very first bike(passed my CBT Saturday)
I did the CBT on a Yamaha YBR125 which I really liked and wouldn’t mind getting.

criteria is basically something that’s overall cheap to run & looks decent, runs well

for the first few weeks/months I would only be doing little journeys to build up experience but after that I would be commuting to work with it which is 25 miles each way