absolute beginner help needed

hi I live in walthamstow and will be starting to work in Heathrow very soon so me and my girlfriend was juggling ideas to keep costs down on travel, and one of the ideas was motorbike, I know I need a provisional licence and to start I was going to go for a cbt and see where it goes from there, so my questions are what would be a good cheap bike to get, what’s the average insurance,tax and MOT on a bike? and from starting from nothing except riding a push bike and roller blading around the streets of central London, I think I have a good idea of the roads and how crazy it can get! and would you suggest a geared or non-geared bike to start?

cheers ant

i’d suggest a scooter.

like this

http://londonbikers.com/forums/943321/honda-ps-125-scooter-2006-19k-miles

Across the city, a scooter is the most practical commuting vehicle - small, low centre of balance, very manoeuvrable, very fuel efficient and there’s generally a fair bit of storage under the seat to put a change of clothes etc in.

Since you’ll probably be ataking in a fair bit of the north circular, a proper motorbike might be a better bet as they’ve got bigger wheels which are a bit more stable at speed. They still return high mpg but you’ll have to find another way of carrying stuff. I only ever rode a CG125 for a week so can’t really comment on models.

Tax on a 125cc is £16 a year, I think I spent about £200 a year on servicing etc. when I had my scooter but I guess it depends what you have, what goes wrong and where you take it. Check the comparison websites for insurance as there’s a lot of variables.

Have you heard of GetOn? They do a free hour long taster session if you want to see how you feel on 2 wheels - few beginners tips on their website too.

http://www.geton.co.uk/