Y'Allright Four Eyes

I started riding just over a year ago and one minor, but constant, niggle is the practicalities of wearing glasses on a bike. When it rains if the glasses get wet they fog up. So that means having to keep the visor down at all times which isn’t entirely practicle. Also they are a second layer to blur on coming lights on top the visor when things are wet.

Are there some simple solutions? I was considering getting contacts for commuting, but for me it is a last resort due to expense and faff.

I would definitely go the contacts route - I am not sure why you are worried about cost. 30 pairs costs about £20 if you go for the daily disposable type. If you can afford to put gas in the tank you can afford to see properly.

I use glasses only for riding and driving. And I use a full face crash helmet so I feel your pain.

My top tips would be.

1. buy glasses to suit your purpose…Thick framed chunky armed glasses won’t fit as comfortably into your lid as a thiner wire pair.

2. keep your glasses as clean as your visor. if you have rainx/anti fog stuff, it works on glasses too which is fantatsic. keep a small cloth in your gear for cleaning them.

3. unfortunately, keeping the visor shut sometimes is a must…however I find that opening my shoei to notch one is usually ok and doesn’t let much in. this is however balanced by being able to ride at speed in summer with the visor up and my glases stopping my cornea drying up or being blasted by bees.

I thought ablout contacts but the hassle of taking them in and out when I only ever use them for limited times made me decide against it.
Laser eye surgery is the only real long term solution but I still haven’t made up my mind about that…

I agree that its worth paying to see properly, but to some of us, £20 a month is an expense we would rather avoid heh :slight_smile: