Whoops, I bought a Macbook Pro...

I’m a Microsoft professional by trade, but finally bit the bullet after a few months of drooling over the Apple website and have bought a Mac laptop. Foxy and I headed out to their Regent St store yesterday to pick it up (that’s an experience in itself, the shop is INSANE). I was impressed with their customer service and helpful attitudes. Far cry from buying a PC.

I went for a middle of the range Macbook Pro, something that was powerful but still portable. 15" Pro, 2.33ghz Core2Duo, 2gb ram, 120gb HD (forgot to ask for upgrade!! doh) and the glossy 1440x920 screen.

It’s so cool I’m wondering why I didn’t do this sooner! The design of the packaging, accessories, manual and laptop are incredible. The OS is fab, truely fab. It took about five minutes to get used to the difference between PC and Macs, i.e. installing software, managing windows and navigating the drive. The bundled software is VERY, very good. Everything is really user-friendly and there’s more innovative functionality than I thought there would be.

The up-shot of this purchase is that Foxy gets a Sony Vaio laptop running Vista for editorial work on the road, and I can use this when on-site for photograph/video work when we cover events. No slow down as we juggle use of the laptop.

Battery life is mega, I’m completely amazed. Four times longer than the Sony, which is less than a year old.

Here’s a couple of snaps:

Also, LB will become more mac-friendly from now on, as it was partly bought for testing the site.

You’ll love it Jay…I’ve been using Macs now for the last few years and have never had any probs with them…they just work !!

It didn’t earlier, it hung when Vista crashed the router (I’m not kidding!) as I was leeching files off the Vista maachine (great cross-os networking support on both sides). I had to force it to turn off as Finder had hung.

Still, it’s a great thing and I can see this being the start of a few more white-goods in the household