What would you do?

So here is my problem.

I’m an IT Contractor. I was leading a small team of developers which has shrunk to just me and another contractor.

The other contractor needs constant direction from me on what he should be doing and I’m having to show him how to do something 2 or 3 times.

He has now started refusing to come to the client site in London at all, working from one of the clients other sites. When I interviewed him , we agreed he would come into London 1 day a week and the rest of the time he could work from the other site. Not an unreasonable request…

He is contantly negative about the project - always whinging about any any delays and changes in the focus of what we need to work on. Thats just part and parcel of working on a large project!

I’m currently looking at some of his code - he has just blindly copied something that was blatantly wrong from the previous version of what we are working on. I will now have to waste time getting him to re-do this. This isn’t the first time this has happened.

He is just wearing me down - having to spoon feed everything to him. I would feel bad having to let him go before christmas and in the current economic climate but don’t see any other option really.

So am I being soft or should I just jettison him?

If you noted down when he’s failed to do as agreed, completing tasks, attitude etc I’d say it’s worth pulling him aside and show him what your current issues are but also how you feel they can be resolved.

I think being too firm straight off will result in more issues. I would attempt highlighting the problems, how you can fix them together and improving things moving forwards. If he doesn’t respond to this or becomes more problematic then you will have to be harder - ‘jettison’ him if needs be.

get rid, plenty of other people willing to fill his shoes

This is good advice in relation to an employee, and certainly worth a try, however only you can tell how this may work out.