Urgent brake help needed

Panic…

Triumph Daytona 1200 1995 N reg

Noise from the front brakes so in my wisdom I decided to take some bolts out of the caliper on the right hand side and fluid came out of the bottom of the caliper when Itook one of the bolts out.Tightened it up quickly but now have no pressure on the brake lever.

I have sold the bike and the bloke is picking it up in the morning and I am no mechanic so urgent help needed if any one lives in or near the Buckhurst hill area or can explain in detail what I need to do.

It turned out the noise was from the fender extende that had rubbed on the front wheel !

Please reply soon.

go to your local bike shop and get some brake fluid. dot 4 will be fine. also get a bleeding kit.

ask the person in the shop to explain how you do it if they can. if not the here goes…

take off master cylindar top and fill to brim making sure no fluid is spilt

pump the lever ensuring the level does not go below the min mark (this could let more air in your brake system)

spanner on the bleed valve on the caliper the fuild came out of with the bleed kit hose attached to the nipple or just a cloth

crack the valve open at the same time compress the lever and fluid and air will come out (will feel like just fluid) close the bleed valve before letting go of the lever.

keep doing this pumping the lever in between and ALWAYS ensure the level stays above min or you’ll get more air in the system.

its real easy but will take 20-30 mins to do.

You’ll have to excuse me if I sound thick but is that all that is wrong with it ? because I let some fluid out when I undid that bolt I have caused the lever to go soft ?

yes you have let fluid out and air in. so you need to bleed the system but hopefully only that caliper. its pretty straightforward so you should be fine.

just take your time and keep the resevoir topped up

Thanks Seb,