Turning

What exactly is going on when a bike turns? It’s kind of confusing. A couple of days ago when I first started trying to ride, I thought it was simple - turn the handlebars right to turn right (hey I’ve been driving a car for twenty years, that felt right). However it doesn’t seem to be as simple as that, and I’m having trouble explaining exactly what happens.

The most difficult bit to understand is actually starting the turn. The best description I can come up with is this. It seems that I need to want the bike to turn in a specific direction. When I want it to, the bike starts to lean in the direction, and then I let the handlebars turn into the direction that it’s turning. At the very start, the bars stay pointing straight ahead - indeed if anything, they sort of jerk very slightly in the opposite direction first (the first time I felt that happen it freaked me out and I really pushed the bars to the right and hit the brakes - which nearly lead to a crash). It doesn’t really make any sense.

I’m “fine with it” now, because it actually feels quite natural when turning, but I don’t “get” how it actually happens. So - let’s assume I wanted to explain motorbike turning to my eight year old son - can someone give me a description of how I would teach him to do it? What exactly is going on here?

-simon

Counter steering i believe it’s called. You turn the bars left to make the bike turn right…???

I’m not sure you’d want to explain it to an 8 year old :pinch:

Try watching this though

counter-steering is what makes a bike turn.

I’m sure someone will go into the physics of it, but to turn right you have to push on the right bar (pointing the front wheel “left”) in order to be able to lean right. If you imagine the physics of it, a bike wont really lean right if the wheel is facing that way. it’s just not that possible.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B8IdTq3_3WI

this might help.

hope it helps.

Good video!