Track virgin needs help

Wheeeeeee! First track day comin up!

Brands Hatch, 19th Jan (fingers crossed for good weather, but any weather is good if I’m riding)

Need advice though.

Brands Hatch Indy:

1. I’ve got leather trousers witha 3/4 zip. If I buy a leather jacket that will attach to this is 3/4 zip enough or does it have to be the full 100% attachment. The zip on the trousers goes from the front of one love handle, round the back to the front of the other…wil this pass scrutineering?

2. I’ve got a rear tyre with two plugs and a bit of squaring off. Now realistically, I’ve never ridden a track before so as its my first time, I’m probably NOT going to be asking the full spectrum of ability from my bike this time out… so, would it make sense to leave this rear on for now, mueller it, then replace AFTER the track day, or replace it now, REALLY mueller it and risk having to replace again soon.

3. Also I’ve done motorways with this rear (and the double plugs), but the strain on track will obviously be far higher and in far different movement on the tyre…will a plugged tyre survive or would tracking on a plugged tyre jsut be considered suicidal…?

All advice on riding the Indy circuit appreciated too…

Cheers, Toby1

Hi Toby1,

I did a Supermoto day at Brands in November and the marshalls were stricter than any other track I have been too.

I have leathers with 3/4 zip around and they passed fine, they did check as we were on the grid before going out!

Not sure about the tyres…I would tend to agree with you and would rather ruin them and get new…other side is your confidence…you really don’t want to be thinking the plugs will blow if/when you are cornering and if you have new tyres, they will get ‘run in’ very nicely at a track!!

Enjoy yourself…:smiley:

Adam

Enjoy yourself Toby - that is the main thing for trackdays.

To answer your questions: