Touring end of October

Been thinking of visiting my folks in the Mosel Valley last week in October, but not sure if the weather will be a bit too cold by then. What do seasoned tourers such as the Jetstreams et al think? I have been riding throughout the winter for the past two years, but that’s only commuting in London…

Thanks a bunch :slight_smile:

Mosel Valley, nice place to ride around :slight_smile:

You know it mista - prime biking country :smiley:

i find its no problem riding in cold weather, put on couple of extra layers. Worst bit i suffer from is the finger tips. I fitted heated grips to my old bike which worked a treat, or theres heated gloves, or those mitts that couriers work which i think would do the trick on a long journey.

wear a snood to protect the little bit of your neck between lid and jacket, and your ready to go, enjoy your trip :smiley:

The weather in the Uk can be quite unpredicatable anyway, a few yrs ago i rode my old bike back from northern ireland in February, via Snowdon . I had a weather updated from roadrunner on route that there were no snow drifts that day, and off i went :smiley:

I was in Cochem 3 years ago in October - the last week in fact. The weather can be hit and miss - I guess you know that if you’re from the area ?? I was lucky, the weather was great, but I was prepared for plenty of rain and cold.

Yes, the weather will be a hit and miss. We sometimes do have, what we call a “Altweibersommer” (Indian Summer), which means you can sit outside in a beer garden during day. My questions is more, what is it like to tour in lower temperatures? As I said, I commute in the winter but never toured when it’s colder. I’m off to Portugal on Wednesday touring the Alentejo, so that’ll be the other extreme :rolleyes: