telling the folks

bit of a weird post i admit, but i’ve been biking for a couple of years now and have still not told my old man i have a bike. get on great with him but didn’t tell him initially as i knew he would constantly worry and now i want him to know (mostly so i can head down to his place in Hereford on the bike in a few weeks time, some great roads near him ;() and am not sure how to approach it. also feel like a punk as the rest of my family know and if he heard it through the grapevine it would not be very nice for him.

if i tell him i’ve had it for a couple of years he will be miffed that i haven’t mentioned it, but if i say i just got it he will think i am an absolute novice and should not ride down to his place. catch 22 really. and it is my own fault for not telling him at the start i know.

fyi, i am 28 years old, a pretty sensible rider/bloke and he had a scooter in his early years! unfortunately the one time i thought i would mention it last year someone on a superbike stormed past us on a country road at about a ton and my dad muttered what ‘death traps’ bikes were… eeek.

anyone been in a similar awkward situation and able to offer (constuctive) advice? i do expect at least 6 posts taking the p1ss of course…

id go the honest route and take the bullet.

Tell him that you have had the bike for some time and didnt tell him because you didnt wont him to worry.

and that you are somewhat experienced now and he shouldnt worry as much as if you had just started out.

he wont like it but like you said better to hear it from you… and better to admit you didnt say anything rather than get caught lying (saying that you just bought it)

I agree with Pan, just fess it up mate. What’s the worst that can happen?

If you haven’t done it already, think about doing a bikesafe course and show your old man you are treating it seriously:)

I bet he already knows!