Tasted tarmac today

Could have been a whole lot worse…on new bike (aaggghhh) decided to take her up to Finchingfield to get me and her used to some twisties - so …about 2 miles after the B184 starts at the A414 junction on the way to Fyfield.

Came round a bend to be presented with a whole oad of surface water. Luckily I was taking it pretty easy due to the fact I am new to the bike and still running her in. Bit of a blur, but as I went round the edge of the water (am now roughly in the middle of the road) and I went to straighten her up - the front wheel and steering basically went very fast - to the left to the right etc. It did it a few times very fast (must be name for that - but you know what I mean) and I soon lost her and hit the deck :angry:

Next bit was a bit surreal as I slid on my arse - the leather patches doing their job - I was thinking, wow, like these trousers really work in a crash…hmmm (am going backwards) wonder where I am going to end up? Wonder if I should put out my arms to try and slow down…if I do that, it might hurt though…that bit was actually quite fun.

When I stopped, look up to see bike in the middle of the road a bit ahead of me - thankfully no cars had been coming or the bike or me could have been badly fcked! Crash bungs and fairing did their job, with a bent clutch about the only thing damage that wasn’t superficial…though the fairing and top box now look a right mess. :crazy:

Stood in road to warn and stop the traffic in both directions before a guy (biker in a lorry) helped me up the bike and we soon got it going. Decided to knock FF on the head and ended back via the A12/M25 home.

Shoulder and leg now starting to ache so suspect I’ll be pain tonight / tomorrow…

So - one very unhappy bunny wishing he’d stayed in bed!

Ouch!

Happy to hear you’re still here though.

There’s a message to everyone - get your bungs on!