Slowest Wheelie

Coming into work this morning I lifted the front wheel of the ground an inch or two :w00t:

and it got me wondering how much speed plays a role in lifting the front wheel.

Is there a minimum speed you must be going in order to do a wheelie?
is there a slowest wheelie record :Whislting:

I’m no expert but it’s more about technique than speed. You can do a power wheelie from grabbing a handful of throttle but you can clutch it up from a standstill.

oh yeah, forgot about that one…
and the numerous idiots on youtube that flip the bike from standstill :w00t:

ITS JUST ABOUT GET EVERYTHING RIGHT BUT OFF THE POWER IS GOOD JUST DONT PULL UR WRIST TO HARD

high and slow is the best… simple…

the higher you go the less acceleration you need to keep it up and the further you will be able to cary it before you hit the rev limiter or need another cog…

start with small power wheelies then learn to clutch it up.

you can flick it up from 10 mph with the clutch to a good hight and carry it from there.

also think of it like this if you power it up its starts low but as it gets to a certain hight it picks up faster and faster and will suddenly lift, buy that time your in the meat of the power and its easy to flip it…

+1 :slight_smile:

In both cases it is the rate of acceleration rather than level of speed. Clutching it simply enables a greater gain in acceleration in a shorter space of time making lift off occur at even low speed. Doing off power simply is a progressive accceleration as opposed to sudden.

But to simply show it is not all about speed - look at anyone bombing it down the motorway… at v high speed - both wheels down. Because have achieved that level of speed through accelration less severe.

What you are talking about is torque, the more torque that can be generated the easier it is to change the angular momentum.