Should I buy a brand new Sv650?

I’ve had a very despondent time looking at used bikes recently…I own an 04 Bandit 600s , which is a bit knackered and I need a new bike. I do a lot of miles to and from work, and time permitting I like to go out and have fun on the twisties…I don’t particularly like the Bandit… it’s far too heavy and dull in my opinion.

I’ve been riding on and off for 20 years, and in the past have owned, amongst others, an NS125R, CBR600 (steel framed one), and a Triumph Daytona 600. I thought I’d like another sports bike…

Over the last few days I have ridden lots of bikes… some good and some bad, one or two were shocking. But I’ve discovered that I’m probably not as flexible as I used to be…or my pain threshold is a lot lower than it used to be, anyway I’ve decided I can’t get a full on sports bike.

I popped into Robinsons Foundry in Canterbury yesterday (after a glorious ride around the A20/A259/A260 etc etc) and got chatting to the lady in there who tried to sell me an SV 650 Sport, in black, brand new. I won’t go into the details of the deal she’s offered but it’s very tempting…as I get a brand new bike which no one else has abused, it’s guaranteed for 2 years unlimited mileage (and given the miles I do, that’s a big bonus) It’s a v-twin which I’ve lusted after for a while (albeit in my mind I was getting a much bigger one), It’s light and maneuverable, it looks a bit like a sports bike (in fact, with the exception of the exhaust and the number plate hanger I thought it was a good looking bike) and most importantly of all, it was actually quite comfortable. I can’t afford much more than 4k - I can’t really afford that - and my bike must be reliable, it’s my main transport.

I could go and buy a second hand sports tourer… however everyone I’ve looked at looks ok but they’ve usually done more miles than I’d like, or they’re out of my price range.

Would I regret buying an Sv650 ?