shifting in 5 days?

I did my CBT on an automatic and now ride an auto scoot.
I’m looking to do a Full standard licence course in the summer.
I would like to do the test on a manual, to save me having to go back and do the test again at a later date and having to have restrictions for another 2 years. The problem is i have never ridden or driven any thing with a clutch. My bicycle has gears but that is the extent of my geared experience.

The courses open to me include a 5-day course that is aimed at beginners - starts at CBT and ends in the Test. I think that the having ridden and done a CBT means that all i would be learning would be gears, the CBT certificate means I can ride an auto but I don’t know how.

Is 5-days enough time to learn to use gears? and get my riding up to a test standard - i think i need coaching to get my current riding to test standard anyway.

Being a student i have no money and being a referee my pay has dried up until the season kicks off again so i cannot get a cheap manual to practice on and with my financial and employment status a second bike is a ludicrous idea.

Thanks
Stewart

I know people who have gone from never having ridden a bike to passing DAS in 4 days, so I would imagine it would be plently long enough

Depends on how quick a learner you are? When I did my DAS this time last year I hadn’t ridden a geared bike for 10 years so I was a bit rusty to say the least on the gears but I picked it up again in the 5 days and passed the test (albeit on the second attempt). If you’ve got auto CBT you’ll have to do the geared version anyway before you can do the geared DAS I think. Most training schools should assess you anyway on the first day and they’ll let you know if they don’t think you’re ready. Go for it! …before the new test comes in :).