Research project on bikers in London

Hi,

I’m currently in my final year studying Anthropology and as my final project I have to do a 12,000 word research project. Since I spend all my time riding, looking at and talking about bikes I figured it’d be an interesting topic for my project.

I’m going to need a few people to interview over the next month or two so if you fancy volunteering then I’ll probably be at BM a few times and will supply drinks/food. For now I’m just looking for some general feedback and ideas on my plan.

So far the planned question/topic is: How have media representations of motorcyclists affected identity and community formation amongst motorcyclists in London?

The draft chapter outline is:
-Introduction
-Anthropological perspectives on community and marginal identities/communities
-How have motorcycles been represented in the media? Put into historical context.
-Mods & Rockers – associations with youth culture and moral panic
-Outlaw Motorcycle Clubs – history and affect on perceptions of motorcyclists
-Current day perceptions of ‘biker’ image/community amongst motorcyclists
-Romanticism and Disgust – how risk, freedom and existing in the margins has affected identity & community
-Conclusion