Passed my test, now I need some advice.

Hi,

I passed my test and now I want to get on the road. However I am not too sure what to get. I know what I want but I am open to words of wisdom. Basically I got my heart set on getting a sportsbike. I have my eye on a gsxr 600. I have some experience of the road I used to be a courier (but that was years ago on a 125 honda cg arrrrrghh!). I have to buy secondhand so any good advice with regards to purchasing a second hand bike would be much appreciated.

Thank

Jai

Hi and welcome aboard.
You cant go wrong with a Gixer 600 as they are great bikes, the other bike id recommend would be the Honda CBR 600R as its a well balanced and great bike to ride once youve passed your test.
As long as the bike has full service history and you don`t buy it from someone dodgy it should be fine.

^^^^^^^^^^^ wot he said :slight_smile:

think you cant go wrong with most 600s nowadays

I know this won’t be the most popular answer and people think they’re boring, but a cbf600s. it’s easy to ride, so good for my daily commute and i’ve not gone piling into a hedge, as i may have done had i bought some pocket rocket straight away. they’re not too expensive either. yes, i constantly wish i had a fireblade or could turn heads on some racing-red ducati, but a mate of mine got it up to 110 mph on the weekend without really trying. he reckons it’ll do 120-130 easily, and who needs to be caught speeding at much more than that?

:smiley: Have a look at the Triumph Street Triple as well. A cracking good bike, and different to boot. It will do all you ask and handles really well. One of the best “600” class bikes out there.

Thanks for the advice guys. Is there any signs (no I don’t mean read signs!!!) I should be looking for when buying a second hand bike. Also what is the lowest reg you would go for?