Parking in London - how to use chain

Hey there :slight_smile:

Noob here, got my A2 license earlier today, woo! - Anyway, I was wondering, I have a 2009 Kawasaki Ninja 250R and I want to order the Almax Series 3 chain that’s very hyped up on youtube and review sites.

However, driving past solo motorcycle bays in London, it just seems like a space with nothing anywhere near to wrap the chain around. Am I missing something?

How would I effectively use the chain?

If there is nothing solid or otherwise to wrap the chain around, what’s the point of the chain?

yeah exactly…security is a massive issue in most of the bays.

Look for posts by the ‘NO TO BIKE PARKING FEES’ brigade and ask them about it…

oh yeah welcome to LB :slight_smile:

I used a bike bay on Great Russel St (off Tottenham court road) and they had ground anchors there.

I think that area comes under Westminster council so might be worth checking their site to see if they have pinpointed any other bays with ground anchors.

Kensington & Chelsea have Hardie anchors in lots of their bays. Islington and others tend to use stands on the pavement side of the bay with a horizontal bar just above ground level that you can lock to. They’re not everywhere though.

Else assuming you can park in other types of bay (it varies between boroughs - look here: http://www.motorcycleparking.com/parking_london.shtml ) you can often find a road sign pole next to the kerb, park next to it and loop a chain around that.

Thanks for your comments everyone - if say I try to park next to the sign, what length chain would you say would be enough? - 0.7m? 1.5m?

In photos of motorcycle bays I can find, the pole seems to be pretty far away from the bay itself if at all?

e.g. http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/e/ee/Scooter_parking_london.jpg