Oops...Is this speed camera live?

No excuses. Lack of attention… This morning I set off the speed camera I’ve been riding past for over 6 months this morning. At the lights on the 3 lane St Georges Road A302 just north of Elephant & Castle. My clock was showing 39mph.

Does anyone know if that one is actually live/active?

Cheers!
Roland

It flashed therefore its live

^^ pretty much what I’d say

Pretty much what I thought. Never mind, lesson learned.

If it’s the one by the imperial war museum, then yes. It catches a few people out.

Not necessarily, the old film type cameras have been left to flash despite not being loaded with film…

Go back to the camera and see if its the old type then look into the glass window (not the flash) if there is a lens, its loaded with film :frowning: if there is nothing behind the window they you are a lucky boy :stuck_out_tongue:

If its a new digital type - oops :frowning:

If it’s an old Square one then they are usually analogue and can run out of film. If it’s a tall one on a stalk then they are usually digital and never run out of film.

If you were caught you’ll probably receive the NIP letter within 3 days, legally they have to send it within 14 or it will never come but with the digital cameras it’s much faster than that.

When I got flashed by a camera van it was on a Wednesday and I had the NIP on Friday so least it saves waiting around.

If you are offered the speed awareness course take it and go. It’s actually pretty useful.

If it’s this one, then it looks digital. So just hope that nothing comes in the post. If you ride a Honda then your hero speedo was probably over reading so you may be closer to 35. Best wishes.

Yep, that’s the one. Thanks all. I was thinking it’s a digital one. This confirms it.

I ride an Aprilia Pegaso so happy to have a speedo that works at all :wink: I’m thinking my 39 could be maybe a real 35 or 36 as Joby says.