Nikon D40x Tips?

I’m heading to the TT this weekend and will be using my other half’s Nikon camera.

Does anyone have any suggestions for getting the best action and non-action shots with the camera?

As a complete novice, would I be better off just putting it in Auto mode and using it like a point and shoot?

I have a D40 (like the D40x but with less pixels) probably best to use the auto modes to start with if you’re not familiar as it takes some practise to get the manual modes right and you don’t want to muck up too much. Try the sports mode for racing action, if the camera has a long lens use that and try to pan with the bikes as they go by. Also focus on an area of the track before the bikes get there and lock the focus using the half-press on the shutter button, then when the bikes come to that part of the track you’ll be able to finish taking the shot and hey presto the bike will be in focus (hopefully).

If you want to experiment with manual settings try S mode. This is shutter priority, if you set it to a fast shutter speed (1/250 and above) and try a few settings you can see what they do to the pics of the bikes. If you want to try panning (moving the camera with the bike as it goes by and you’re taking the pic) try a slower speed (1/30?) as this will give a nice blurry background. Panning takes some practise though and I’m by no means an expert on this myself!

You are probably best sticking to the auto modes if you aren’t familiar/confident enough to use the other modes - but try the other modes before you go and see if you can figure out what they do/how they work.

I learned to pan by standing on the main road and practicing with cars … no reason why you can’t do the same tomorrow after work …