Newbie Test Question

Hi, I’m new to biking. I’ve just (somehow) managed to pass my Mod 1 now waiting to take my mod 2.

I’m alot more confident on the road than on the manouvers side so haven’t got too much of a problem but I notice on this forum people mention that you have to do shoulder checks whenever you move from stopped, even in qued traffic. I normally do SCs when I pull of or when I change direction/position on the road but I’m not used to SCs every time I move in qued traffic, red light etc.

My question is does it have to be shoulder checks or can you just check your mirrors?

I just did a short ride around town trying to do SCs every time I move away but find it a bit off putting, I think it might be due to not wanting to keep traffic waiting behind me. I think if I have to for the test I will be remember to do them but hope it wont push something else out of my brain.

Putting my instructors head on, one of the reasons why getting some formal instruction from a local school is so important is that every examiner has their own particular likes and dislikes.

Some are quite happy for you to rely on mirror checks with the occasional and appropriate shoulder check, some like shoulder checks in preference to mirrors, and to this end a local instructor will know what the local examiner likes to see.

The bottom line is that it is no good looking over your shoulder when there is danger developing ahead of you as you need both eyes on the road, but in thesame vein there are times when you will need to take rear observation over the shoulder because of your blind spot.

No two examiners are alike so I really would recommend you book up for a lesson. Even if you only have the one lesson it will point you in the right direction.

Lessons are just way too expensive. In the London area instructors are just taking the ****. Ok, if
you have spare cash then the more training you get the better, but when you’re strapped and