Newbie here! Hi to all.

Hi, I have a Yamaha XVS 250cc, I would like any advice on the security, I’ve heard some say that an alarm is a waste of money, & Almax chains are the best to get. I don’t know what the best alarm is to get but I know for insurance it has to be Thatcham approved.

What sort of price should I expect to pay for an alarm & fitting & what sort of price for the chain?

I also want saddle bags & the bag that sits on the sissy bar, out of the 3 I think that 1 would be more useful to start with. There is so many site & shops that its hard to know where to start & get the best price & produce.

I’ve past my C.B.T & just waiting to take the theory then practical, as its a 250 I cant practice on it as its over a 125cc even though its under 33 b.h.p.

I live in Romford, Essex & don’t know the best place/website to go to.

Any advice would be greatfuly received.

Thanks

Davie J

hi welcome to lb. im sure someone will be on here shortly with some advice.

Hi and welcome aboard.

Have you been to johns of romford or bacons on the a12?

Hi and weclcome btw :smiley:

happy newyear and welcome

the best alarm keep it in your bedroom

a good chain and an old cover,old then 9 times out of 10 no 1 will look twice trust me it works good luck

ride safe

John’s of Romford in London road is a Honda dealer & the 1 in Rush Green is a Suzuki.

hello and welcome to the LB family!!

Thanks, I’m a cruiser person myself (like the seating position), hope to be on the road soon.

Welcome to LB mate, the DSA website has several practice exams you can take. Pick up a copy of the Highway Code and make sure you know it. Theory test shouldn’t be a problem, the killer is the hazard perception.

As for the CBT it limits you to 125cc *AND * 14.8bhp.