Know a good dirt bike school?

I’m a newbie to the bike world and am trying to play ‘catch up’ with you guys on the experiance front. Riding a sportsbike I’ve done a Bike Safe, quite a few track days, I’m going to the CSS and I read all the material I can get my heands on. Oh as well as communting though London every day which is pretty good training!!

Although I want to go in the direction of the track people say I should go out on a dirt bike to get comfortable with sliding the bike and improve my balance and machine control. Does anybody have any recomendations of good dirt bike schools or general tips?

Whilst I’ve been doing motocross photography for the past year, I’ve been tempted to have a go myself. I’ve been looking at courses on this website

http://www.yamaha-schools.co.uk/

They have one school down near Brighton

Like the look of the course in Bolton! Long way though.

tony-moto do trainning courses , im not sure if they have bike’s to use or you have to take your own , i did the greg hanson 3 days and it was awsome ! http://www.tonymotomx.com/tmmx/Default.aspx?tabid=84

try this guy I did a half day with him last year and it was a hoot !

www.wildtracksltd.co.uk

Done a day here a few years ago, quite expensive for the time you got on the bike but awesome experiance all the same

I did the Yamaha one last week. It was a track down in Winchester - but according to the trainers Brighton has the best facilities.It was a lot of fun and you wont have trouble picking any of it up quickly with your experience.

There were many different rider levels with kids that had never ridden before through to a couple of confident riders that were caning it.

It was hard work and I am still acheing today - 3 days later - its very physical so expect pain later.

Its expensive though for what it is - a day ragging bikes on a dirt track - £175… running from 10 - 3.30. You will be knackered in this time no doubt.