Is this expensive?

Hello,

My brake rotors and pads need replacing soon and my front break feels very spongy, plus i need a 4K service after de 24K service (according to the service manual), I’ve asked for a quote to the shop I’ve been taking the bike too. See picture below, does it seem excessive to you? Average? Good value ?

Attachments

photo_upload.jpg

that looks pretty reasonable for OEM parts.

I’d take it to Scorch though, I bet you he could do it for less

me_groovy
+1

its not cheap but its not expensive either, normal shop rates.

obviously an independent mechanic like Scorch will do it for less.  parts not going to be cheaper.

Why do your discs need replacing?

What gets done at a 4,000 mile service?

Why do your discs need replacing?

What gets done at a 4,000 mile service?

National Treasure
Apparently they are worn out and it was recommended on my latest service to consider replacing them on the next service. I'm no expert but they don't look new either, I cant' really make a judgement, but I don't want to risk it with the brakes.

And as for the service.

http://www.calsci.com/motorcycleinfo/PDFs/DL650K4_svc_man.pdf (page 22)  

me_groovy
Do you take your bike to Scorch ?

no, I have a warranty I need to maintain.

the old bikes I do myself although I have used Scorch in the past when I’ve got stuck

Also depends if the parts are OEM or aftermarket. I’m often shocked at the prices of OEM parts such as bolts - soon adds up when you need 10 of them. 

I love a good read of a manual and I like to know what I’m getting and why.

£132.00 for a 4,000 mile service, according to the manual, comes down to an oil change without replacing the oil filter, inspection of this and that and a little spannering to make sure nothing is falling off.

The total labour charge looks to be £185.00. That’s a £50.00 labour to fit the discs which is very reasonable. However, £100 labour for the service and £35.00 labour to replace the brake fluid looks excessive.