is it safe to listen to the radio while communting in london?

i stopped listening to the radion since i started riding motorcycle, but I really miss it. I once asked my instructor, he considered it safe since motorcyclists usually wear earplugs and communicative ear pieces. But i suspect i could be more distracted by listening to the radio then wearing ear plugs, and i am a new rider, hence i haven’t tried to do that. I really want to hear some advice on this, and how many of you listen to the radio while commuting.

When I was younger and less bike savvy i used to listen to music on my 125. I personally found that i only used to remember the first and last 30 seconds of what i was listening to as i got on and off as my concentration was fully focused on riding the bike. Also i think its best to have all your senses on full alert instead of taking one out of the equation. Best to leave your music behind in your bedroom or on the tube where your life isnt on the line;)

I often listen to the radio while on my bike, it occupies my mind and stops me daydreaming thus allowing far more of my attention to be focused on whats happening around me, I can still hear things like horns and loud cans but to be honest I normally rely on the MK1 eyeball for looking out for trouble, and as I also wear earplugs then car sounds are muted anyway :slight_smile:

i used to listen to my mp3 player on the bike until u found myself starting to ride to the pace of the music which wasnt good! But everyone is different

From the age 21, we start to lose brain cells, rather than generate new ones. :doze:

Since 21 was a long time ago for me, I need to use every single one of my brain cells to focus on riding. It might be enjoyable to listen to music, but I think I’d find it a distraction.

I love my music and yes, i listen to my ipod (in only one ear) whilst riding my 125.