Inequality with Cage (Car) Drivers

Had an interesting chat with a MC dealer today. (I do Insurance companies for a living). The point being in order for us to ride a bike capable of any decent speed / perfomance we have to do three tests and be over 21.

Cage drivers two tests and be 17 how is that fair ?

But since biking is more dangerous, i.e. any given crash is more likely to end in tears, it is only fitting that we should have more training and hoops to jump through.

I reckon anyway.

Sounds about right, and after all, it takes more skill to ride a bike than it does to drive a car (safely, and proficiently).

I think the system is great… I’m glad of it too, would not be here now if I had my way when I was 17 and bought a TZR125 instead of a car!!

I think it’s only right as riding a bike is more difficult to do, an absolute beginner can’t fall off a car. It scares me stupid to think of the minimal regulations that were around when I started - reach 17, get a provisional licence & some insurance, go out and buy a 250 2-stroke capable of 90 mph+ and off you go. Not surprising they did something about it. Today’s learners have it tough in comparison but it’s probably best that way!

The point I am trying to make here is in relation to the powerful cars. If you have the means at 17 you could bur a porsche and drive it. In my view there needs to be some sort of power cap for young car drivers to acheive parity with us bikers,

And yes I do beleive that the current system for Bike testing is right.

Gripe now aired.

Ahhh now I’m with u

Yes indeed, it’s wrong. If u can insure it, you can drive it. Badly. wrong wrong wrong.

u can insure it, you just cant claim…

I think its right for bikers to have more training etc… but IMO the 33bhp restriction is totally unjustified.

I think car drivers should do some motorbike training to improve their observation skills

I’d agree there should be some kinda power limit on cars for a while after passing your test.