How often do you mess up?

I’m new to bikes in general, so perhaps can be forgiven, but something small always tends to happen everytime I take the bike out.

Tonight it was the usual horn instead of indicator, followed by not being able to get the bike into gear at the traffic lights so faffing about for longer than I’d like :slight_smile:

I do hope I’ll get better :smiley:

That’ll all iron out in time …

Took me a while to get the hang of this new idea of left footed gear lever, if your keeping the rubber on the tarmac your doing fine.

yeah give it time

Learning physical movements is all about getting new synaptic patterns wired up in the brain and this can take a few weeks of constant practice, but once learnt, they tend to stay with you for life.

I had a very odd experience with this, many years ago I suffered with a rare form of paralysis that came on over a few months and then took many years to finally leave me in full fitness, at it’s worst my legs were completely paralysed and my arms were very weak, I had to relearn walking as each nerve group was affected and then recovered.

Yet after a few years I got a shot on a bike, because I had not been riding at any time of my illness, I got on the bike and rode it like I had never been off of them. I didn’t have to re-learn as the pathways of the brain that do gear changes had not been affected in the same way as my walking.

Bob

When I was doing my DAS I was regularly called Billy Big Thumbs for hitting the horn when i was trying to cancel my indicators, i also found it difficult remembering what limb does what and had to concentrate of every movement so I’d miss a gear or similar at junctions.

Once you get used to it, it all becomes natural :slight_smile:

To be honest, I could forgive you for missing your indicator button.