Headlight bulb

I’ve been intending to replace the headlight on my bike for a few months now but never quite managed to find the time to strip off the fairings and have them back on again ready for the next morning’s commute. Sure enough, half way home on Friday the bulb went and I had to limp home on just the aux light. Luckily I was almost home anyway and I’d taken an unusual route home so I was in decent streetlights all the way but it got me thinking - if it’d gone in the middle of nowhere, what would I have done? Wouldn’t fancy riding far on just the aux light, especially if there were no streetlights around and I certainly wouldn’t want to be stripping off the fairings by the road side to replace the bulb.

In the car I carry a spare bulb but it’s not such a problem because a) you can change the bulbs in 5 minutes, even in the dark and b) there’s two of them so losing one isn’t a show stopper.

I’ve replaced the aux light with a bright LED now so at least I’ll have a decent ‘be seen’ light if the headlight goes again, won’t help me see where I’m going though. I guess the solution is to replace the bulbs regularly and hope that means a bulb never blows?

Any thoughts, tips or suggestions that I stop procrastinating with my bike maintenance?

What bike is it that requires fairings stripped off to get at the bulb? 

Yamaha XJ6 diversion - I did wonder if it might be possible to replace it with the fairings in place with a bit of contortion but I wanted to change the Aux light as well and that’s pretty well tucked away so I didn’t really give it much of a go and just followed the Haynes manual.

It certainly wouldn’t be easy with the fairings in place, especially getting the new bulb in and the cover back on.

Don’t you have low and high beams? On mine, they are separate bulbs so if the low blows, I’d use the high beams in an emergency.