Getting Arround London

Hey Everyone…

I’m pretty new to London, but I get totally screwed navigating, I can never find my way anywhere, and almost without fail it takes me 2 hours+ to find anywhere, regardless of where i’m going and where i am

I’d really like a sat-nav thing, but it’s too damned expencive at £400 odd for a TomTom… any ideas, or tactics the couriers amongst use for keeping tabs on things…

I have the Boroughs page of my A-Z on display in my TankBag which helps me get to the right district… but anything more fine grained than that and I have a real problem… it too me two hours to make 8 miles from the office to Gt. Portland Street yesterday… granted it was RushHour, and a few one way systems and no-right-turns caught me out…but it can’t be this difficult ?

Lee

When I came to the UK 20 years ago I used to come into London and just drive around on a Sunday, I would get completely lost but found out that the road signs are pretty good and after a few months I soon got the hang of it. Ride around on a Sunday, it’s a good day out and you get to see a lot of places you wouldnt on your everyday commute.

Hey,

Thanks - I have been doing that, leaving for work 2 hours early, and allowing 3-4 hours for a ride home in the evening, intentionally not chcecking the map, and sometimes unintentionally… roadworkd or being caught in the wrong lane for a turn, or something

It is helping, and usually I can keep my bearings about roughly which direction I need to be going in to get to somewhere I know… even if that is as hap-hazard as heading for the N.Circular, or for my M11, or M1… just because I know those places, and if theres no signs for there, I usually head for Westminster or C. London… now I know there’s no congestion charge for bikes, of course!

Is a satnav/iPaq/TomTom any use, or can you suggest anything for keeping a better map (are there any? I think the scale on my A-Z is too fine for a quick glance downwards) … I’ll try anything!