Fully Synthetic Oil?

What are peoples views on fully synthetic oil? Have read reviews on Castrol r4 superbike oil (5w 40) and was thinking of giving it a go but would like your views.

The R1 has got 1400 miles on it and has had one oil change on first service, from what i have read it seems it will make a big difference but is it to early to change having only done afore mentioned mileage

Darbo

Hey , darbo

I use the fully syntetic oil on my bike but just after it got 3k on the clock. I heard and read that this oil will offer too much resistance if your engine is any new than that… But i’m no an expert at all

It’s been said by a few notable engine experts, that you shouldn’t run fully-synthetic oil in a bike until it’s been properly bedded after 4k miles. Cezar did his before, as his bike was run in on the track. I wouldn’t put it in your bike just yet Darbo, the engine will still be tight, and all the components not properly meshed. That’s a very low milage as well Darbo

I recently put that new Castrol R4 into my Gixxer. I have to say that there was a noticeable improvement in both gear selection and engine noise and smoothness. I was very impressed. Its gonna get another oil change in about a thousand miles, its got 7200 at the minute and oil was originally put into service at 6000. Im very impressed and apart from a small increase in cost, £29.99 for four litres from Halfords the benefits far outweigh that for me.

As Jay says, probably better for those bikes that have carried a few more miles but if your into revving it high alot then i personally dont think that you’ll have any problems.

Jay is right! My has 3k miles on the clock done on 7 trackdays and one trip to Croix in France. No slow or city riding! I wouldn’t use fully syntetic just yet on your bike… but thats me