Freshman French man

Hi everyone,

I’ve been living in London for 5 years, travelled for 2, and I’m back in London since January. Last December I passed my bike licence. I am now looking for my first bike, first gears, first assurance contract… And first miles of course ! But as this world is totally new to me (and the British laws in particular), I have a few questions…

A few bikers met at the Wednesday Borough Market meeting told me I could get answers at this friendly forum. Here are the links to my first row of questions :
I am looking for a basic 600cc (CBF600, ER-6, XJ6…), where should I buy one ?I am looking for second hand gears (jacket / boots / gloves), is there a shop stocking such items ?Would you have any CE 1621-2 compliant jacket to recommend ?Do you guys have any insurance company to recommend or to avoid ?I’ve been driving cars for 10 years, but as I passed my bike licence just a few months ago, will I need to display a “L” or anything like this on the motorcycleMany thanks !

Hello and welcome,

1. look on www.biketrader.co.uk if you’re looking for second hand ones, and on http://www.motorcyclenews.com/ Good places to get an idea of what’s out there. If you’re after a new one then look up the official dealers closest to you and then ask about them specifically. I’m sure anyone who’s had previous experience will be willing to share.
  2. can’t help you on this one, never bought 2nd hand gear but I would recommend having a look at new stuff in Hein Gericke if you can get to one (there are fewer of them now :frowning:
  3. don’t know what that means, sorry
  4. I’ve always gone with whichever insurance company gave me the best value for money and I’ve found each of the company’s I’ve used to be about the same: only interested in your money but will get on with what they have to do so long as you drive them to in the event of a claim.