Free First Aid Course for London Bikers

Hi all,

My name is Jim Sanderson and I am a Crew Manager with Kent Fire and Rescue Service and one of the Kent Fire Bike Riders. We are running a free First Aid Course for Bikers information about which can be found below. We can run the course for you as a club with a limit of up to 25 spaces per course or you can book individually, just e-mail me at work [email protected] you can find out more about us on facebook just search for Kent Fire Bike or go the KFRS website where we have our own page which includes a video all about Biker Down the free First Aid Course for Bikers.

Biker Down, Biker In Attendance!

The FireBike Team at KFRS has developed a new strategy which we are now rolling out toBikers across the counties of Kent, Sussex and Essex. Read on for moreinformation on the reasoning behind it and the format.

Many bikersride in groups or pairs and it is often the case that when one is involved inan accident the first person in attendance will often be a fellow biker, thecare of a downed rider is uppermost in rider’s minds and many clubs and groupsoften discuss the need for the training of riders in how to deal with a crashedbiker. As you are probably aware injured motorcyclists need to be dealt with ina specific manner by a First Aider due to the mechanics of the type of injuriespossibly incurred and the sensitive issue surrounding helmet removal frominjured bikers.

This FREEcourse is conducted at Ashford Fire Station, titled ‘Biker Down, Biker inAttendance’, it is essentially a ‘First Aid for Bikers Course’, but includesthree modules:

1. INCIDENT SCENE MANAGEMENT