Dream Supermoto?

Hey all!

So, I have been riding for a couple of months not on my CBT (with a 125 cruiser style bike), and have started thinking about training and progression.

I recon within 6 months to a year I will be looking to do my DAS and upgrade to a bigger bike.

My dream bike is a Ducati Hypermotard, based on looks alone, but I think it’s just a bit much for my first big bike :wink:

What’s a good option, heading towards this goal? I’m looking for a 600cc or less I suppose. I thought about a KTM, but everyone seems to think they break a lot, and I’m no mechanic.

Any suggestions folks?

Cheers.

Where did you get that impression?

People say that Ducatis are always going wrong, but PJ will tell you that is not the case :Whistling:

Admittedly I’m not the most knowledgeable, but I would say that the LC4 engine (in the Duke, Duke II, 625 SMC, 640 Adventure et al), is as reliable as most other engines if maintained properly. Although as a four stroke, single cylinder engine, it has shorter service intervals than an in line four.
I guess it comes down to the fact that engines need care and if treated badly can perform badly.

Even Hondas eventually :wink:

I want another SuMo!

edit -
Sorry, I forgot to add that the RFS engine has drastically reduced service intervals and drinks oil. But you get that back in performance and grin factor :slight_smile:

Everyone says that but i dont have any of these probs with mine. The only thing ive ever realy had to sort out is the crank nut coming loose which is a 20min easy job. Not done it for awhile now though.

As for servicing, i abuse my 525 and rarely service it. once a month at the most if that. only other problems ive had are from where ive been moding it especialy with these wheels that arent actualy ment for the bike :w00t:

Would never sell it as its had too much money go into it and i love it to bits :smiley: