Crashed K4-6: on road to recovery...

G’day all… Newbie here. Just thought I’d share some pics of my recent rebuild.

Bought a light dam’d GSXR few months ago, and it took 6 weeks to get all parts together to get it in a rideable state.

Pics:

1. K4-6 as seen when bought - cracked generator cover visible (just about)
  2. Damage to right side - what’s not visible is a hole in the engine block just behind clutch cover :S
  3. Cut down Akra

Attachments

Felt soo bad when first I’d fixed everything up, expecting to ride away, only to find the hole in the engine block after it started p’ing oil out

Pics:

1. Engine out
  2. Crack visible top of block (which is just behind the bottom of clutch cover if that makes sense hehe)
  3. Instant gasket comes in Suzuki Blue!!!

Attachments

hehe last pic:

1. Engine back where it should be

I’ve got a video of when we got it started up, but file’s like 14mb…(!)

Funny thing is, i don’t have any current photo’s of what it looks right now… Soon as it was rideable, the camera was put down!

I’ll get round to taking a pic of how it looks now.

Attachments

wow what a job to underatake! did you do it all yourself??

looks like the state of mine after my first trip over the top of it and onto a grass verge!!

did you have any problems from that crash bung in the first pic???

hey adam… yeah, did most of it myself. got a mate to help with taking out engine, splitting, joining and putting back in, but everything else pretty much straightforward.

When i saw that bung, i thought it would… but all that appeared to happen was it bent back, but wasn’t touching the frame (nor did it leave any dents)…

Had to cut off the head, and mole grip the last bit out…

how did you repair the cracked block? Looks like you might have just replaced the lower/sump. Can’t quite work out from pictures but you might have been lucky as it did not break the upper part. Nice to have a decent workshop.

Hey Nuts,