Commute from Surrey

Morning All,

Unfortunately the train service from Redhill up to London is going to be severely disrupted in just over a weeks time. Rather than using the undoubtedly rubbish replacement bus service I was thinking of commuting up on the bike. I have never done this before so was just wondering if this is something that other people on here do and if so what is the best route and the best place to park up. I work on Liverpool Street so would ideally like somewhere around there. I would hope to be here by 8:00am. Would all the parking be gone by then?

Any help warmly received.

Cheers,

Bacon.

No idea about commuting in from Surrey as I dont live there, sorry.

You may want to recce the parking in the area around where you work to see how full it gets and when. Also look out for the parking charges etc. If youre on good terms with people in the area and or at work ask around to find out if theres any office parking lots that may be available. Dont ask dont get !!

Good luck and commute safe. :slight_smile:

I would avoid the A23 if at all possible (especially as there is major hold ups just north of the M25 at the moment).

If you are travelling early then A217/A24/A3 to the city is a reasonable route, but watch the speed cameras.

Consider riding up early on a Sunday morning to familiarise yourself with the route without much traffic.

one of my work colleagues commutes up from Guildford - he takes the A3 then A306 all the way to Westminister bridge as far as i am aware…

Avoid Brixton. There are roadworks forcing 3 lanes into 1 and it is a nightmare. It seems this setup will be permanent once the roadworks are complete as it seems they are widening the pavement, and narrowing the road :angry:Lessismore told me about a fantastic alternative - go to Herne Hill and then take Milkwood Road which bypasses Brixton altogether.