Chain problem

My bike has done 10500 miles since August and I don’t think I’ve always kept the chain as lubed as it should be so I now have 3 links which are tight, I’ve tried flexing them and adding extra lubrication but it doesn’t seem to have helped.

I can get an OEM chain from the Kwak dealer but is there any benefit in fitting a different make or type ? I need a 520 pitch 112 link chain and most seem to be O ring, is there an advantage to X ring ? Are they all the same ?

I guess you already have an ‘o’ ring chain and the o rings have prob fallen apart on some of the links helping them to sieze up. I am not an expert but x rings are just different shaped o rings and there will prob be y and z rings soon to spend our money on.
I would say have a really good look at your sprockets and replace also if any doubt , buy a quality brand o ring chain and if you want to save a chunk of money fit it yourself. if you are confident with that.
Rockerchic just saved herself about 70 quid and learnt ‘how to’ at the same time.

Thanks

X ring chains are the puppies to go for as the shape of the ‘o’ ring is different and hold the grease in better. Although to be fair i have never had problmes with O ring chains.

M&P do pretty good deals on decent make chains.

personally i’d go for something like Regina, EK or DID

+1:)

BUY A DECENT QUALITY X RING.

ALWAYS REPLACE SPROCKETS WHEN YOU DO THE CHAIN.

What’s a chain? :D:P

Silver bling that goes around your gregory.

I had a regina chain, very good it was too.:slight_smile:

Kind of like one of them rubber bands you beginners use, til you’re allowed to play with the big boyz and the heavy metal! :smiley:

Bought a DID chain in the end, X ring low friction, super heavy duty whizzo wonderful thing but it’s gold not black, not really into bling but it’s got to go on, not messing about again. Also bought the rivet link for it rather than use the clip link, somebody suggested this was safer.